Defending champs face gruelling test

News aus Bendigo (Australien)

7/03/2009 7:36:00 AM


PLENTY of champions will pursue victory in tomorrow night's Bendigo International Madison cycling classic.
The field for the 200-lap race, backed by McCaig Airconditioning in association with Fujitsu, includes World, European, Australian, and World Junior championship winners.

There are a few Bendigo International Madison winners who will be back on the Tom Flood Sports Centre track.

The reigning champions, Eaglehawk's Glenn O'Shea and Geelong's Leigh Howard will attempt to match a feat many of the sport's finest have.

Nine cyclists have celebrated back-to-back wins in the 38 previous battles for Bendigo International Madison glory.

O'Shea and Howard could etch their name into history alongside Keith Oliver, Bob Whetters, Don Allan, Danny Clark, Shane Sutton, Roland Gunther, Stephen Pate, Brett Aitken and Scott McGrory.

The task for O'Shea and Howard will be far from easy.

Among the greatest challenges will be Swiss star Franco Marvulli and Germany's Leif Lampater.


Kompletter Pressebericht